Yoda Guy Reviews.com

Nick & Gloria’s Apartments


Nick & Gloria’s Movie Exhibit


copied periodically from www.vrbo.com/176347/reviews

***** 5/5.

Great location, great rental, great fun!

Guest: Jeff(United States)
Date of Stay: 06/06/11 Review Submitted: 06/21/11

We just spent 10 days in this rental and it was everything promised and more. Gloria and Nick were great hosts, very helpful (including arranging a very early cab ride for us back to the airport for our departure). Orient Bay is a nice beach - but I'd also point visitors to Plum Bay and Dawn Beach. You're close to Grand Case (had a great meal at La Villa), and really, almost anyplace on the island. Also highly recommend Latorie Farm at Pic Paradise - a wonderful hike in the rainforest and delicious food in their 'treehouse' restaurant afterwards. The apartment is fine for 3, would be a stretch for 4. The 'welcome' basket was much appreciated, as was Gloria's prompt response to our questions about St. Martin. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: Age 55+, sightseeing, families with teenagers.

***** 5/5

Marvelous time!

Guest: Isabel(USA)
Date of Stay: 05/22/11 Review Submitted: 06/01/11

Nick & Gloria! We had a marvelous time. Your apartment was beautiful and had all the necessities we needed to make our vacation more comfortable and affordable. We really appreciated the gift basket of snacks! The pool was great and the beach beautiful! Hope to see you both next year :)

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing, romantic getaway.

***** 5/5.


Guest: Starr and Joe(Holliston, ma)
Date of Stay: 01/07/10 Review Submitted: 01/07/10

This comment is long overdue!! After spending many, many years coming to the island, we have finally found BLISS!!We spent 2 wonderful weeks in October 2009 at one of the cute little apartments that Nick and Gloria have refurbished.They are great hosts and really know how to make your vacation enjoyable!! the pool was a big hit with Joe, as he is a lap swimmer and used it every day.Can't wait to return!!


Overview of apartments (general information and description)

FAQ frequently asked questions

Lots of details (Got questions? Get answers!)

Specifics: apts 9 & 10 High quality. Low price!

Specifics: superior apt 22 WiFi, big fridge, DVDs etc.

Photos  (our album)

Guest Book                 .(read what past guests say about us)

Orient Bay                      . (about the beach)

About St Martin          . (and St. Maarten)

Restaurants                    . (places we like to eat).

Our rates.

(what does it cost?).

Make a reservation   . (book asap to avoid disappointment).

other links...

Other accommodation (when we are fully booked...)

About that YodaGuy  (Nick’s Biography)

About Gloria       .(Gloria’s Biography)

YodaGuy gallery & stuff (that YodaGuy’s Internet hub)

YodaGuyMovieExhibit Nick & Gloria’s non profit foundation


**** 4/5.

Excellent Value

Guest: Perdita & Eddie(Chapel Hill, NC, USA)
Date of Stay: 04/20/11 Review Submitted: 05/06/11

Mont Vernon was a hotel/resort some years ago, with about 400 units. Now they are owned apartments along a steep hill overlooking the north end of Orient Beach. We enjoyed our stay here, and feel that it is an excellent value. During our 9 days on St. Martin we spoke to numerous people about our and their accommodations -- by comparison we had a good place at a better than average price. The unit is clean, well-maintained, and it has a good studio kitchen. The king-sized bed is comfortable and we slept well. The unit air-conditioner works quickly and well. The bathroom shower has good pressure. The TV (why do you want a TV on St. Martin?) gets about 6 channels, half of them French, but the TV itself is nice). The morning light is pretty, and the patio is great to sit on for a morning nibble. We walked by the pool on the way to the beach at night, but had no use for it otherwise. Why would you when Orient Beach is another 50 feet away? The managers, Nick and Gloria, were polite and available when we needed them. The parking lot is a short walk downhill from the unit, with multiple steps. As noted by the owners (in their description) and in reviews, this is not a unit for someone with access issues. The location is proximate to 2 dinner restaurants and a small French Bakery, before you ever get out to a main road (I strongly recommend you have a car). Not that anything is very far away on St. Martin (it's only 37 square miles total), but this site is close to some grocery shopping and is a nice couple of miles jaunt to both Grand Case and Orient Beach. I would certainly stay here or at any of the other units under management by Gloria and Nick again.

***** 5/5.


Guest: BobLydia(thunder bay,ontario,canada)
Date of Stay: 03/29/11 Review Submitted: 05/30/11

My wife and I stayed at Nick and Gloria's for the month of April We stayed in two different units.Both were immaculate and very homey.The welcome baskets were a nice extra touch that will make you rember the thoughtfulness of the owners. It was great to have the owners onsite to answer any question that arose.Nick and Gloria always were there to provide excellent advise on the island.They were pleasant to deal with. Mt Vernon is a large complex with many absentee owners.Everyone did not have an experence as great as ours. The units were a good value and we would highly recommend staying at any of the units managed by Nick and Gloria.

***** 5/5

Location, Location, Location

Guest: Rich and Joan(Syosset, New York)
Date of Stay: 02/26/11 Review Submitted: 03/07/11

We just came back from a great week in St. Maarten. This is a nice and very reasonable priced studio with access to some great beaches. If you are looking to get away from the over-development on the Dutch side and be on your own, stay here. You have access to Orient Beach, Anse Marcel and Pinel Island - three great beach spots. The studio was nicely furnished with a comfortable king size bed (l slept great). The owners are nice people that try to make your stay enjoyable. They were kind enough to provide a gift basket with wine and cheese, and coffee as well. You absolutely need a car - parking can be challenging as Mount Vernon is built on a hill over-looking Orient Beach - so you better be able to get around. Here are some other tips: - Go to Mr. Busbys for a good lunch and a swim at their beach (Dawn Beach). - The lolos are good for some local inexpensive ribs and chicken in Grand Case (they were doing a brisk business). - there is a local bakery and enjoy with your monring coffee on the balcony. We would absolutely stay here again. Rich and Joan

***** 5/5

As advertised, and more....

Guest: Mike and Diane(Boston, Massachusetts USA)
Date of Stay: 02/25/11 Review Submitted: 03/07/11

My husband and I just returned from eight days in the studio condominium pictured in Nick and Gloria's ad and we were more than pleased! The photos are very accurate in depicting the amenities and charm of the apartment. There are not only all the basics that should be there for a renter, but the soothing colors and charming decor make this apartment relaxing, comfortable and a very sweet stay. Gloria has all the bases covered and helped us rent a very reasonably priced car for the week, recommended some wonderful restaurants and guided us away from over-priced venues that would have disappointed. She and Nick can answer anything you need to know to get the most enjoyment from your stay. We loved our morning view, the accessibility to the beach and all that Orient Bay has to offer. Nick and Gloria provide an excellent, safe and secure venue for a relaxing vacation. While I would not recommend this venue to anyone physically challenged by stair climbing, for all others, this is an excellent apartment in a great location with wonderful owners who will help with anything!

Owner response: Thanks Mike and Diane. Hope to see you again in a year or five.

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, sightseeing, romantic getaway.

***** 5/5

I can recommend this unit without reservations

Guest: Tom & Joan(USA)
Date of Stay: 02/12/11 Review Submitted: 03/07/11

I spent a week at this property in Feb 2011. My lady friend and I found Nick and Gloria to be accommodating, delightful hosts. They made you feel as if you were an old friend. A special treat are the goody items they provide, since the nearest supermarket is a few miles away. The accommodations are neat and clean and all appliances are functional. Bathroom and kitchen are well maintained. We had our meals outside on the balcony and enjoyed the landscaping of the complex.Nick and Gloria were always quick to reply to emailed questions and were prompt in returning our security deposit. I can recommend this unit without reservations and have already done so to a friend who was intrigued by my description. I also will return soon.

Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

***** 5/5.

Delightful Winter Break!!

Guest: Steve & Shannon(Saint Peters, MO, USA)
Date of Stay: 12/25/10 Review Submitted: 01/27/11

We spent two wonderful weeks in this lovely condo by the beach starting on Christmas day. We love to walk on the beach in the early morning and the late afternoon and this location made that really convenient. There are LOTS of activities available on Orient Beach if you are energetic, or you can just lie on a towel in the sand or on a lounger and enjoy the sun and the tropical breeze. We had a nice French dinner Christmas evening - Nick and Gloria were kind enough to get us reservations, as we had no idea what would be open. (Astrolabe, at the Esmeralda Resort) We loved being able to make coffee and meals in the room. (If you don't have to eat at a restaurant three times a day, you can save a lot of money for your NEXT vacation!) We rented a car, and it was a nice convenience to be able to go to the grocery store. Nick and Gloria steered us towards a car hire outfit we had never heard of, and it was about 40% cheaper than the quote from the company that we usually deal with. 8-) You can trust their advice on local stuff - they live there, after all. If you get a car, you should definitely take a trip "over the hill" to Anse Marcel. You won't forget the drive. We found a terrific store called Bacchus in the shopping complex nearby with the big "US Market". If you have any interest in French wine (or cheese or other yummy French goodies) you really should check out this store. The US Market, by the way, is US in name only - it is a French store through and through. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and we hope to go back in a few months. A bad day at the beach (is there such a thing?) is better than a good day at work. And it is hard to find a better beach than this one. The condo was clean, comfortable, and just like the pictures. We would recommend it to anyone.

Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

***** 5/5.

41 year old married couple from the amazing state of Colorado

Guest: The Adams Tribe(Denver, Colorado)
Date of Stay: 08/21/10 Review Submitted: 09/13/10

Within just more than an hour of arriving on the island, we'd been through customs, driven to the condo, been met by Gloria, and were on our way to a suggested local restaurant for an amazing, affordable meal. The condo was in short driving distance of all of the island. We hit 8 beaches in 8 days (some of them repeated, repeatedly) and the condo location, cleanliness, functionality was perfect for us. Given that it was our first visit to St. Martin, we were ready for surprises and they were all pleasant. Location: great. We'd recommend the location to friends and we look forward to our next visit, without question. Grand Case has many great restaurants: La California, La Villa, and a drive over "the hill" to the Radisson for our "formal" night out was quite enjoyable. We took a morning jog, swim, walk-home on Orient Beach almost daily, and the pictures and the experience are true to our hopes for our week-long escape from our 3 lovely children. And now, we'd like to take the kids there some time in the future... although we might prioritize our get-aways for a few more years. Gloria and Nick are very gracious hosts with a great knowledge of the island and personality that makes the experience personal. Their suggestions about the island were fantastic. Given that it was off-season (in some regards) we found the island to our hopes, and the condo was right-on in enabling our escape. Tres bien....a'bientot!

Recommended for: Romantic getaway

***** 5/5.

Wonderful week on our favorite island.

Guest: Barb(Cincinnati, OH)
Date of Stay: 06/13/10 Review Submitted: 07/02/10

Thank you Nick and Gloria! We spent June 13-20, 2010 at this great rental. The room was exactly as described, very clean and well equipped. The owners are very helpful and friendly. The location of this unit was perfect for us as we love spending time at Isle Pinel, Grand Case and Orient Beach. We will be back and we've already recommended this rental to family, friends and coworkers!

Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, girls getaway, sightseeing, romantic getaway.

***** 5/5.


Guest: Kim and Ken(New Hampshire)
Date of Stay: 05/31/10 Review Submitted: 05/31/10

Date stayed April 15 2010-April 30 2010- Wow!!!! My husband and I have been going to St. Martin for 25 years and have enjoyed staying at many different areas on the island. We found Yodaguys Apt. amazing. It was quiet, clean, well supplied with everything you would need on vacation. For the price, it exceeded our expectations above and beyond. Nick and Gloria were delightful and the views overlooking Orient Beach were fantastic. We are definately looking forward to returning next year. Kim and KenNew Hampshire

***** 5/5

A little piece of paradise!

Guest: Mona(Whitby, Ontario)
Date of Stay: 03/28/10 Review Submitted: 04/20/10

We rented this delightful studio apartment for just shy of 3 weeks. It was a wonderful stay. We were right on Orient Beach - a very short walk to the actual Beach and a wonderful daily walk end to end. The apartment provided all the necessary amenities and it included satellite tv and wifi. What a fantastic deal! You do need a car, but if staying for a week, you might get by without one. Gloria and Nick were wonderful to deal with,,,, fortunately, we didn't have any concerns. I loved staying here, what a great experience - away from the crowds and buffet lines at the regular resorts. I would recommend this type of accomodation to anyone - in fact, I doubt we'll ever do an all-inclusive again.

Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, girls getaway, sightseeing, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

***** 5/5

Everything perfect

Guest: Yana3(New York)
Date of Stay: 03/02/10 Review Submitted: 03/02/10

We are a married couple, late 20s-early 30s. We enjoyed our stay at Nick and Gloria's and would come back here again. Everything was perfect, including the location. (It was a good base to explore the island). Nick and Gloria were extremely helpful and made our stay a pleasant one. Everything we needed was at the apartment, including a cell phone, shampoo, soap, extra towels, salt and pepper, coffee and coffeemaker, hair drier, etc. The apartments are on a hill overlooking the beach on one side, the lagoon on the other side. Just gorgeous! We had breakfast on the beautiful patio every morning and the views were just fantastic. We found that the waves on Orient Beach were a little too rough for us, so we drove to other calmer beaches on the island (the one by Radisson and Pinel Island). Overall, the value that we got was great and we would highly recommend this place. In fact, it exceeded our expectations, for the price. Honestly! Everything was so perfect, and even though we traveled on a budget, we didn't feel like it at these beautiful apartments. We actually plan to come back one day with our son.

***** 5/5.

Incredible value

Guest: B. E. K.(Nashville, TN)
Date of Stay: 01/09/10 Review Submitted: 01/09/10

I wanted to write a recommendation for your property because of its incredible value. My only fear is that when others discover what you offer, you may become so popular that we may not be able to reserve with you! When we go on vacation, we seek an environment that's quiet, restful, beautiful, and private--yet convenient to restaurants, beaches, shopping, and people when WE want to be around them. We've vacationed multiple times in St. Martin and stayed in, both, private homes and hotels. But YOUR APARTMENT MET ALL OUR NEEDS and EXCEEDED ALL OUR EXPECTATIONS! It is--WITHOUT QUESTION--the BEST VALUE on the island! (When we first saw your rates, we were skeptical, but decided to take a chance--and we're SO GLAD we did! We look forward to many years of vacations with you!) After we got home, we compiled a list of the "TOP TEN REASONS we think 'Yoda-Guy's Apartments' are the BEST VALUE on St. Martin/St. Maarten": 10. Your king-bed, studio-apartment is spacious, clean, fresh, completely renovated--and stylishly tropical! 9. You provided everything we needed: refrigerator, microwave, cooktop, all cooking utensils, glassware, plates, TV, DVD, CD, towels, beach towels, shampoo, soap, conditioner--and air conditioning! ("Don't overpack! Just take a couple of pairs of shorts, a few t shirts, and that's all!) 8. It's just a short walk down the hill, past the beautiful pool, to the quiet, northern end of Orient Beach! (Snorkeling, swimming, sunning, right there!) 7. Besides its beauty, Orient Beach provides the BEST hour-long-morning-walk on the island! 6. It's just a two or three minute drive to Grand Case--with its approximately30 restaurants--the culinary capital of the Caribbean! 5. It's also convenient--just 20 minutes by car-- to both capitals: Phillipsburg, N.A., or Marigot, F.W.I.! 4. Your hospitality is second-to-none! (It's GREAT to have a personal concierge who is helpful, answers all our questions, but never in the way!) 3. The ample welcome basket you provided--with wine (Rothchild Merlot), cheese, crackers, cookies, and other treats--lasted our entire stay! 2. Your balcony is a great romantic place to watch the stars, moon, listen to the waves, open the sliding doors, turn up the cd player, have a pina colada (or two)...and let the cool tropical breezes blow through the apartment! 1. Now, seriously, how man

***** 5/5

Perfect getaway!

Guest: Bargo(Chester, CT, USA)
Date of Stay: 12/16/09 Review Submitted: 12/21/09

KUDOS to NIck & Gloria! I'm afraid to rave too much because this may be the best kept secret on Orient Beach! From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel at home since Gloria met us and helped us settle in! We are already Caribbean home owners (St Kitts) and we are familiar with St Martin (00, 01, 07) so we pride ourselves on knowing what guests' want and Yodaguys apartments are perfectly well appointed, VERY comfortable and convienient to anything you may need! We are there as I write and we WILL be back... :-)

Recommended for: Age 55+, pet owners, adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.

***** 5/5

Stress free on a budget

Guest: Michele42(New Jersey)
Date of Stay: 12/14/09 Review Submitted: 12/14/09

We stayed at Nick and Gloria's place for our honey this past November and had the time of our lives. We wanted a quiet relaxing place to ourselves and that just what we got. Their place sits overlooking Orient beach which in my opinion is the most beautiful beach on the island. Nick and Gloria were very accommodating and greeted us with a nice basket of treats after our long journey. If you are looking for a stress-free vacation on budget then this is the place you are looking for!!! We'll be back hopefully soon.....

***** 5/5


Guest: Anonymous
Date of Stay: 12/07/09 Review Submitted: 12/07/09

We just got back from an idyllic week with Nick and Gloria. We cannot say enough nice things about what great hosts they were! The place was an incredible value for what we paid and they were just a phone call away. It was great that they provided us with a cell for emergencies- had enough minutes to make a few reservations. Gloria had even stocked a few cold beers for our first evening and some great coffee for the next morning! Don't miss this incredible value and while you're there check out the zip lines at Lotorie Farm - they were amazing!

***** 5/5.

Great people

Guest: Bev &Dan McMaster(Ligonier,Pa)
Date of Stay: 10/16/09 Review Submitted: 10/16/09

We spent 2 weeks In Sept.09 at Nick and Gloria's apt.It was great for the 2 of us. Well furnished with everything you need. We spent almost everyday on Orient beach.Weather was great.Rented beach chairs at Aloha beach bar. Natalie is a great bartender.We went shopping in Philipsburg ,stopped by at Nick's art studio. That was great to see.Ate on the dutch side everynight then stopped by our favorite Hollywood Casino.Nick and Gloria are great people.We will be back. Thanks.

Recommended for:

Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No

Helpful votes: 1/1

***** 5/5.

Best Relaxing Vacation

Guest: MACM(Slidell)
Date of Stay: 09/05/09 Review Submitted: 09/23/09

The condo was excellent and in a great locaion. My wife had our best vacation ever during the two weeks we stayed in the condo. We brought no cell phones or laptops and recharged our personal batteries and rediscovered each other. The condo had everything you would need in an efficiency apartment. I plan on recommending this condo to all my friends and plan on booking again for next year for the wife and I.

Recommended for: Girls getaway, sightseeing, romantic getaway.

***** 5/5


Date of Stay: 08/12/09 Review Submitted: 08/12/09


**** 4/5

Beautiful view, makes for a simple getaway

Guest: TropicalBoston(Boston, MA)
Date of Stay: 07/31/09 Review Submitted: 10/08/09

The location was a little off the beaten path, in an old converted hotel complex. I would highly recommend renting a car from the airport. The island is very easy to navigate as there is really only one main road. The provided directions were out dated so we did have to stop for direction on our way - but after the first day it was much simplier. We stayed at what was referred to as "Yolanda's Apartment" which looked directly out on the beach/bay and community pool. The beach at this end was usually vacant, but a quick 10 minute walk puts you at all the activities you could imagine. The room was simple and clean, andprovided everything we were looking for. There was a complete kitchen that allowed us to cook the occational meal (ie. breakfest and lunch usually), it included all utensils as well. The refrigerator was large, and kept things nice and cold. The AC was a little under powered for the size of the room, and had to be run nonstop to keep a decent temperature even during the night. Patio was nice but uncomfortably hot when the AC was running. The owners were a little hard to track down during check out - they would benefit from implementing a new way of keeping track of the keys, although they were very friendly. We ventured down the beach on a couple of our days there, it was surprisingly vacant after 5pm. It is the french side so prices are bit inflated, we were suprised when we went to Philipsburg on the $2 drafts and cheap appertizers. The first day, we enjoyed a friendly evening with the owner of The String bar on Orient beach, and would recommend the friendly atmosphere.

Owner response: Actually the directions we provide ARE up to date but the route from the airport is not simple when you first arrive. That is why we recommend a cab from the airport (which saves a day's car rental) and have the car people come to pick you up the next day.

At night the hurricane shutters on the terrace need to be OPEN for the a/c to work properly.

On our website we discuss all these issues but often guests don't bother to read them

Recommended for: Girls getaway, sightseeing, romantic getaway.

***** 5/5

First Rate

Guest: Fred & Debbie Burke(Omak, WA USA)
Date of Stay: 06/16/09 Review Submitted: 06/16/09

We had the privilege of spending 9 days in St Martin from May 26 to June 4, 2009. On very short notice we were able to put together an agreement with Nick & Gloria to rent Yolanda's Place (an apartment that they manage for a friend). The accommodations were first rate, tastefully decorated, and yet pleasantly economical. The booking and payment processes went flawlessly and the security deposit was promptly refunded to our account upon our return home. All things were accurately represented on the website and the Maleys' word was good as gold. They were available when needed for assistance or information, but never intrusive. We heartily recommend the Maleys' hospitality. Fred & Debbie Burke Omak, WA USA

***** 5/5

Super Apartment

Guest: Barry & St?phanie(USA)
Date of Stay: 06/04/09 Review Submitted: 06/04/09

Barry & Stéphanie wrote:Thanks so much for providing us a super apartment in such a wonderful location. We were so fortunate to have effectively perfect weather and we so enjoyed our holiday there. It is such a pleasure for be able to locate an apartment with such terrific quality, decoration, appliances (TV, very functional air conditioning, radio, CD player with CDs, DVD player with DVDs, etc.) as well as such nice decorations, Nick’s terrific artwork, toilet paper, paper towels, water, Red Stripe beer (one of Barry’s favorites), a super goodie basket that we so enjoyed, and all the rest including towels, top quality bath products and even salt and pepper. All this at a fantastic price with really delightful people (yes, that is you both)! We did leave some items intentionally and are sorry to not have had better arranged to properly thanked you in person before we departed. We really enjoyed meeting you.

***** 5/5

Wonderful Hosts

Guest: Mike & Sue2(Bear, Delaware)
Date of Stay: 05/26/09 Review Submitted: 05/26/09

We recently stayed in Apartment #9310. The accommodations are excellent and a terrific value. Nick and Gloria have provided first class accommodations and are wonderful hosts. They really want you to feel good about your stay. The information they provide is detailed and extremely helpful, even if you have visited SXM in the past. We highly recommend their apartments to anyone wishing to stay in the Orient Bay area.

***** 5/5

Wonderful stay

Guest: Jim Richardson1(South Windsor, CT)
Date of Stay: 05/05/09 Review Submitted: 05/05/09

We recently returned from Nick and Gloria's studio apartment #9310. We had a wonderful stay there. The apartment was clean, convenient to the beach/pool/store/pizzeria, quiet (NO car noise) and modern. I loved that we didn't have to worry about a converter to charge our phone and iTouch as they had it all wired to go (with a power strip too!). We ate our breakfast and dinner on the porch which overlooks other apartments, but you actually can see a piece of the sea from the porch. There is a couch and chair to relax on. The TV gets a couple of English channels and some French channels too. The bathroom shower was excellent and spacious. We loved that you provided soap, shampoo, conditioner and that Citrus Body lotion (even I used it) that smelled so good. Gloria is an excellent host...made sure we had coffee, sugar and creamer (and tea). It was about a four minute walk to the beach, and about 25 minutes at a slow pace to the far end of Orient Beach. The pool was clean and very warm (perfect). They have lounge chairs with fat cushions to lay on. The store had your basics, including ice cream, beer, wine, cheese, French butter and baguettes. Next door to the store is an internet cafe, a laundry, and a FANTASTIC pizzeria. Oh - French pizza...thin crust and delivered hot to your door. The stores, etc, were about a two minute walk from the apartment. We didn't check out the tennis courts. We opted to take a cab to and from the airport but it appears there is plenty of parking for a rental down the hill from the entrance. Without a car we had to suffer through the fantastic restaurants on Orient Beach for lunch each day. We loved it! All in all, the studio was better than expected and we will be back!

***** 5/5

Wonderful Apartment

Guest: Anonymous
Date of Stay: 04/01/09 Review Submitted: 04/06/09

Kudos to Nick and Gloria for a wonderful apartment and great personal service! After reading the comments, we concur and don't have a lot to add. We spent most of our 10 days on the beach during the day and trying new restaurants at night. We love the island and will return and stay at Nick and Gloria's apartment.

***** 5/5

Great Value

Guest: Anonymous
Date of Stay: 03/01/09 Review Submitted: 03/04/09

Thank You Nick & Gloria for such a great place to stay and your personal touches! We liked the location as it's not at all congested as Simpson Bay & Marigot. But good access to beaches and food w/o congestion. No question it's a great value and we enjoyed 2 weeks. The apartment was well equipped & cozy. Comfortable canopy bed, munchies, toiletries, CDs, DVDs, and players, nice sitting area, wifi, great shower, full kitchen, super pool area, walk to Orient Beach in 3 minutes, we had breakfast daily on the sunny deck, 110 & 220V capability, hair blower, A/C that WORKS great and is quiet, secure doors, small store 1 min. away for fresh french bread daily, and discounts at their YodaMan Store! We have stayed all over the island and this was a welcome change to a home feeling. Downsides - yes - French cable TV is foggy, you do have to climb stairs and hills (this is not really a problem unless you have a handicap), and parking is available but a bit rugged. Welcome to the islands!!! To sum it up we'll be back and a regular for as long as we can. This is truly a diamond in the ruff on St. Martin side! No way could anyone NOT love their apartments. Blessings!!!

***** 5/5

Guestbook Comment

Guest: Anonymous
Date of Stay: 02/01/09 Review Submitted: 02/22/09

We stayed in unit 9309 and had a very pleasant experience for the week that we were there. We were surprised at the nicely furnished apartment for the price of the same. Gloria and Nick certainly were gracious hosts and were always concerned about our welfare during our stay. They live in the same complex and therefore always available if needed. We would not hesitate to stay there again, as well as recommend it if you are looking for value for your money. We had a rental car during the time that we were there and with Nick's help were able to find our shopping places and the nice restaurants on the island. All in all a great experience.

***** 5/5

Everything you need

Guest: Anonymous
Date of Stay: 02/01/09 Review Submitted: 02/18/09

We had two great weeks in St Martin staying in one of the yodaguy apartments. The apartment has everything you need (including bedlinen and towels which are changed once a week) for a comfortable stay and Nick and Gloria can answer just about any question you can think of concerning the island. The beach is a short walk away, the pool is nice and not at all crowded. We warmly recommend Nick and Gloria`s apartments to anyone who wants something a little bit off the beaten track.

***** 5/5

Exactly what we were looking for

Guest: Anonymous
Date of Stay: 02/01/09 Review Submitted: 02/04/09

We spent the first half of our honeymoon on the Dutch side and spent the remainder on the French side at Nick & Gloria's apartment. It was exactly what we were looking for...cozy, comfortable, and relaxing. And the description was spot on! Our favorite part was walking the path to the secluded beach everyday. It wasn't crowded and locals would often have BBQ's at sunset. We would definitely stay at Nick & Gloria's again. Thank you!

***** 5/5

This is the place to rent

Guest: Anonymous
Date of Stay: 01/01/09 Review Submitted: 01/19/09

The apartment was in excellent condition, freshly painted and fully furnished down to the pots and pans. The kitchen was a galley style with an electric range and microwave oven. It was clean and included an apt. size refrigerator. The bathroom was freshly tiled and felt clean and comfortable. Our favorite part of the apartment was the balcony for tea in the evening after a day at the beach. The complex sits right on the ocean and is very quiet and safe in the day as well as the evening. If you love the beach and don't mind renting a car to drive into town, this is the place to rent. Gloria and Nick are great people and the apartment is new and clean.

***** 5/5

As Advertised

Guest: Anonymous
Date of Stay: 01/01/09 Review Submitted: 01/04/09

We had a wonderful time at Nick and Gloria's place. The apartment was clean and as advertised. Just a short walk from the beach and a nice pool where you could spend the day. The only thing we note is that if you are arriving late and do not have a car, the shopping and restaurant options are limited in the immediate area so be sure to bring some food with you.

***** 5/5

Very Comfortable

Guest: Anonymous
Date of Stay: 12/01/08 Review Submitted: 12/31/08

We stayed here during Thanksgiving Week, 2008. The apartment is very comfortable. The description was very accurate and exactly as expected. Gloria was an absolutely wonderful hostess. She was very patient and very helpful. American Airlines lost our luggage for several days, and she went out of her way to help us get it back. We appreciated the ease in checking out of the unit. Gloria just made things very easy for us. I certainly do recommend this unit if you're thinking of going to the island.

***** 5/5

Guestbook Comment

Guest: Anonymous
Date of Stay: 11/01/08 Review Submitted: 11/12/08

Sarah and I spent an idyllic week on St Maarten staying in Nick and Gloria's studio appartment.Our only reservation was that we wished it had been longer! We were greated by Gloria on our arrival who we both immediately warmed to.She was informative and friendly providing us with practical advice that served to enhance our experience. Nick introduced himself a little later armed with a map to help us get to the supermarket that would offer us value for money on the island. We found their warmth and friendliness genuine, with a true desire to make sure we were informed with the right tips to achieve the most out of our holiday. The studio appartment was excellent, value for money and surpassed our expectations.We found it to be full of extras with personal touches which made it a pleasure to stay in. It is set in a quaint, very french styled development - which was quiet and tranquil,the location was right on the Orient Bay beach - where we spent our days. Our hosts left us alone to enjoy our holiday but were always available for help if we needed it.They both use their experience and connections on the island to enhance the stay of their guests - with an excellent car hire deal and tips on where to go and which restarants to eat in. We would have no hestitation on recommending Nick and Gloria's rental studios to anybody wanting a convienient, value for money stay at Orient Bay - and without doubt we will use their hospitality in the future.

***** 5/5.

Wonderful Spot

Guest: Anonymous
Date of Stay: 09/01/08 Review Submitted: 09/17/08

Nick and Gloria's place is a wonderful spot for those who truly wish to get away from it all. What used to be a grandiose French All Inclusive/Club Med style resort is now charming and local with individually-owned places. There's a small convenience store on site with a pizzeria and laundry service as well. Be sure to brush up on your basic French with the residents and store staff as you are on the French side you know. A little knowledge can deliver lots of friendly service in return! Also, even though the hotel no longer operates the bar or restaurant, the pool on site is meticulously taken care of so you can enjoy that as well. The room is truly top-quality and the photos don't lie. Being a stone's throw away from the beach gives you that more-than-tranquil feeling and you're close enough to Orient Bay, Grand Case and Cul de Sac/Pinel and not too far from anything else - French or Dutch. For those who truly want a tranquil/romantic/calming adventure of the islands but not the in-your-face promotion of party-hardy that a resort can endlessly throw on you, then this is the place. For any other conveniences, Nick and Gloria live around as well so a quick phone call or knock on the door can be a great help just in case. Be sure to stop by Nick's gallery in Phillipsburg while you're there. He's truly a unique person with a great knowledge of all the behind-the-scenes stuff you never really knew about your favorite Sci-Fi/Action movies that we grew up with and still love today. I think when you go to the islands, you should avoid the insular nature of the all-inclusive resorts and experience the culture yourself, rent a car, hang with the locals/ex-pats and get a room next to it and this is the perfect place to do just that.

***** 5/5

Wish we could stay longer

Guest: Anonymous
Date of Stay: 08/01/08 Review Submitted: 08/18/08

We stayed for five days in unit 9309 and wished we could have stayed longer. The studio was beautifully appointed and tastefully decorated with an abunadance of Nick's work on display. I will have to buy more of it the next time we visit. We stayed at Mt Vernon when it was a hotel and we found the room to be nicer with the personal touches of Nick and Gloria. The room provided a great base of operations for our daytime beach and scuba activities as well as our evening dining activities in Marigot, Grand Case and Orient Bay village. We used the pool only once and the water seemed fine but there were some loose boards on the deck. Gloria told us that compaints had been made to the property managers and that things should be fixed. After a busy week on the Dutch side of the island our five days at Nick and Gloria's studio was the tonic we needed to unwind before heading home. I am sure we will be back in the future.

Owner response: Dave and Maureen get OUR seal of approval as great guests!!! They left the place in very good shape which is rare. (Someone should invent a site to rate guests who want to rent apartments!)

***** 5/5.

Clean, safe and inexpensive

Guest: Anonymous
Date of Stay: 07/01/08 Review Submitted: 07/30/08

We stayed in unit 9310 for almost 2 weeks and we absolutely loved it! We were looking for a nice, clean, safe and inexpensive place to stay and this fit the bill. The room was decorated very nice. The balcony had a nice view of the courtyard. It also served to dry off our swim clothes. The kitchenette was a blessing for us. We used it for breakfast and dinner. We rented a car so we ate lunch out and checked out the sites. Our favorite beach was Anse Marcel. It was a short drive from the apartment. It is a very calm beach with very few people there (or at least when we went). Gloria brought us new bedding and towels after our first week there. Nick served as a delivery person for us. We bought some art work from Nick’s studio in Phillipsburg and he brought it to us. It was a nice touch! We would love to have had a decent map of the island but we made do with the tourist map we found in the room. Our 4 year old loved going to the pool. It was a nice pool and very clean. We would definitely stay there again. Nick and Gloria made sure we were provided for. Thanks and we hope to see you again in the future!

***** 5/5 .

Highly Recommended

Guest: Anonymous
Date of Stay: 07/01/08 Review Submitted: 07/17/08

We stayed at Nick and Gloria's unit 9309 during the last week of May. They also own the adjacent unit, 9310. Both apts are on the 1st level (one level above ground) so we found there's generally a breeze out on the balcony. While 9309 does not have a beach view, there is flowering shrubbery directly below the balcony which is nice. When needed, the Fujitsu remote control AC unit kept the apt at an acceptable temp. The entire unit is tiled. They took good care of us with a very nice complimentary gift basket with cheese, crackers, juice, fruit and chocolate - yum! The kitchenette was very well equipped and included a 2 burner stove top (no oven) , Oester drip coffee maker, toaster, sink (no dishwasher), microwave and small fridge/freezer, along with adequate counter space and utensils for meal preparation. They had just about all cleaning supplies one could ask for, even soap & shampoo in the nicely decorated bathroom, which has a nice, raised step-in shower. There is no bathtub however. We doubt any studio in the Mt. Vernon has a tub. Beyond the nicely appointed apartment, the large and clean pool is about a 4-5 minute stroll and the Atlantic Ocean a mere 30 seconds beyond that. Not that we were the least bit inconvenienced by it, but the showers, Tiki bar, and restrooms at the pool were non-operational during our visit. The Mont Vernon is situated at the extreme north end of Orient Beach and there are several Tiki bars a short walk south down the beach. To summarize, Nick and Gloria's units situated in the quieter French Cul-de-Sac area of Northeast St. Martin represent outstanding value, comfort, and security, especially considering the dreadful US $/Euro exchange rate. We highly recommend their units for 1 or 2 people.

Recommended for:

Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No

Helpful votes: 1/1

***** 5/5.

Can’t beat the price

Guest: Anonymous
Date of Stay: 07/01/08 Review Submitted: 07/08/08

We spent our honeymoon here and it was wonderful. Nick and Gloria are so friendly and helpful. The accommodations were great. You can definitely not beat the price. We made it very cost effective by making breakfast and lunch at the apartment, then eating out at night. The walk down to the beach is great, and swimming at the pool was fun. We would definitely recommend people to stay here. We rented a car and were able to explore the island. Thanks Nick and Gloria for all your help!

***** 5/5 .

Terrific value

Guest: Anonymous
Date of Stay: 07/01/08 Review Submitted: 07/08/08

Very nice apartment, Nick and Gloria live in an adjacent apt and couldn't be more helpful and accomadating. Terrific value, walk to the beach. Felt very safe and secure as almost all the apartments are occupied.Would return in a minute. Tom and Lori

***** 5/5 .

Super Nice

Guest: Anonymous
Date of Stay: 07/01/08 Review Submitted: 07/07/08

We had a great time, this is one of the best values on Orient Beach, with a short walk to the action. The owners are super nice and can provide recommendations on local dining cuisine. The bed was very comfortable, quiet & cool a/c, refrigerator, blender, everything you need! Thanks again.

***** 5/5 .

Highly Recommended

Guest: Anonymous
Date of Stay: 07/01/08 Review Submitted: 07/07/08

Nick and Gloria, thank you very much for your kind hospitality this last May. For those of you considering staying at Yoda Guy's place, I highly recommend it. The room we stayed in was like new, and they thought of every detail to convenience our stay. It's a very quiet area of the island, but a 10 to 15 minute walk up the beach rewards you with great restaurants in Orient Bay, and more action on the beach - some beach restaurants and a few stores. Yoda's end of the beach is more quiet and the waves are a bit bigger than they are a few minutes up the beach - so if you like it more calm a short walk provides that. Grand Case is 5 minutes by car, and that has so many great restaurants. We love the French side, and rarely felt the need to leave it, except for to check out the cruise ship area. Yoda's place is in an older hotel complex, and I think that the best locations were taken first on the island...so the location is very nice, high up and breezy, and the elevation is great...and you can get away from it all - some of the apartments in the hotel are year round residences, so there's a local feel - the pool is very clean, and there weren't many people around when we went, so we had run of the place - should just mention that some of the buildings of the hotel could use a bit more maintenance, so the atmosphere isn't one of a hotel in its glory - but more of a sleepy place that is natural and comfortable, that is not pretentious, and that you can slip in and out of without any formality or with unwanted attention. NIck and Gloria are the perfect hosts - gracious and kind when you need them, and invisible when you don't.

***** 5/5 .

Everything we needed

Guest: Anonymous
Date of Stay: 07/01/08 Review Submitted: 07/06/08

We had a great stay, the unit is close to the beach and pool, a very short walk and it was well equipped with everything we needed. The complex is close to everything on the island. Thanks Nick for all your help.

***** 5/5 .

Nice apartment

Guest: Anonymous
Date of Stay: 07/01/08 Review Submitted: 07/06/08

Nice apartment complex in a very nice part of the island. Clean, well appointed room and a balcony. Very helpful owners. Good value (no ocean view). We had a very good time on the island!

***** 5/5 .

Good value and a fabulous time!

Guest: TomTomVA(Alexandria VA)
Date of Stay: 06/14/08 Review Submitted: 10/10/09

Thanks Gloria and Nick, we had a fabulous time! It was everything we were looking for. . . quiet (yet close to the action when we wanted it), a pool and easy beach access, a nicely decorated and clean place to stay, and of course a good value! The apartment was very well equipped, right down to the bottle opener and cleaning supplies, and the welcome gift basket was a lovely touch! Also, you could not have been more accommodating, especially when we locked ourselves out. We'd absolutely love to come stay again next year.

Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

If you stayed at the Yoda Guy Apartments...

Please help us by writing an apartment review at TripAdvisor.  We want you to tell them about the apartments but don’t forget to also mention your favorite restaurants, beach bars and activities too.

If you visited the Yoda Guy Movie Exhibit...

Please help us by writing a review of the museum at TripAdvisor.  We need at least 70 reviews to show up on the main St Maarten/St Martin page.

If you want to know what people think our apartments...

We are fortunate to have a LOT of very positive reviews from TripAdvisor, FlipKey, VRBO & HomeAway. These independent recommendations tell you a lot about us, our apartments and the service we strive to provide. Scroll down to read reviews from VRBO or access remarks from TripAdvisor on the left.

Read or write a review !

If you want you can also read reviews of the Yoda Guy Movie Museum.